YUV News Logo
YuvNews
Open in the YuvNews app
OPEN

Breaking News

Sports

Did umpiring error cause MS Dhoni run out? Twitterati think so

Did umpiring error cause MS Dhoni run out? Twitterati think so

After the Indian top order collapsed against New Zealand in the World Cup semifinal at the Old Trafford on Wednesday, Ravindra Jadeja and Mahendra Singh Dhoni who kept their side in hunt as India chased 240 runs for victory.

Soon after Jadeja (77) fell after adding 116 runs for the seventh wicket with Dhoni (50), the former India skipper was caught short of his crease by Martin Guptill with a brilliant direct hit in the penultimate over of the match. India eventually went down by 18 runs to crash out of the World Cup.

However, a video has emerged on Twitter which has sparked a debate over the legality of the delivery in which Dhoni fell. As per ICC rules, in the third Powerplay, only five fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. But before the ball was delivered in which Dhoni was dismissed, a small graphic in the video showed that six players were outside the ring, leading to widespread reactions by fans.

While it doesn't matter if it is a no-ball in case of a run out, the fans felt that had the umpire called it an illegal delivery, Dhoni wouldn't have had gone for quick runs as the next delivery would have been a free-hit.

Related Posts

0 comments on "Did umpiring error cause MS Dhoni run out? Twitterati think so"

Leave A Comment